All The Bright Places - Jennifer Niven | Review

Monday, January 25, 2016

all the bright places jennifer niven review
 "They meet on the ledge of the school bell tower, and so their story begins". 

Recently I read the book All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I was excited to read it because many people gave it great reviews, including Zoe Sugg. The book is described on the cover as 'the story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die'. 

The story is about two school students - Violet Markey, a popular girl devastated by her sister's tragic death, and Theodore Finch, who suffers from mental illness and could be described as being 'fascinated with death'.
When Violet and Finch begin to work on a school project together exploring their state, they go 'wandering' together, and not only discover things about their local area, but also about each other.

I enjoyed how each chapter changed between the points of view of Violet and Finch, although I much preferred reading Violet's parts - I'm not sure why, but I preferred her as a character much more than Finch, perhaps because I feel I didn't really connect to him as a character.
all the bright places jennifer niven review
I've seen it described as 'The Fault In Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park' and I must agree, the book focuses on the romance story of two troubled teenagers, similar to both books, and also issues of death, similar to The Fault In Our Stars and feeling like you don't fit in, similar to Eleanor and Park. All The Bright Places is definitely a must read for readers of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

I really did enjoy this book.  I couldn't wait to get home to read it everyday, so I think that says a lot about how much I liked it. Although I mentioned earlier I didn't love Finch's character, I really did like Violet and I feel like the story is the journey of her finding herself, and finding who she wants to be friends with, not who she is supposed to be friends with. A feature that I loved about Violet is her connection to writing because I feel like I could relate to her quite a bit.
all the bright places jennifer niven review

I definitely recommend this book to you all, and I would love to hear your thoughts on it if you have read it too!

You Might Also Like

14 comments

  1. This sounds like a book I would enjoy! Really want to read it now, lovely review xo

    emsirose.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I LOVED reading this book, I found it so relatable and accurate and honest and I just can't explain all the feels it gave me hehe :) I definitely agree with the eleanor and park meets fault in our stars idea however i feel it adds a really unique twist of mental health problems :)

    Lots of love, Marianne xxx

    http://myhappybubblexx.blogspot.co.uk/

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a book I'd really like as I love so many of John Green's books! Lovely informative review :) xx
    Chasing Belle 23

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You would definitely enjoy it! Thank you x

      Delete
  4. I love this book, and I have to agree that it's 'The Fault in Our Stars' meets 'Eleanor and Park'. Great review! x

    Lifewithadash.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I couldn't think of a better comparison! x

      Delete
  5. I've just bought this book (as you can see in my recent book haul) and I'm so excited to read it! Lovely review

    Shelby Louise | http://shelbylouiseread.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I will have to read your book haul x

      Delete
  6. I love this book! OMG it's the best book. I've re-read it so many times. I loved both characters and i honestly cried so much as well (dpnt want to spoil the book for anyone)

    lovely review! I loved reading it
    Daizy| www.ZyaandDaizy.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's definitely a book I will be re-reading lots in the future! Thank you so much x

      Delete
  7. I'm actually currently reading this book at the moment and even though I'm only literally a few chapters in, I really do feel fascinated by it and intrigued to find out how the story unfolds. I also like books that alternate perspectives, as I find then I am able to pick which one I connect with most and I'm also able to see things from two sides of the story! Lovely review girl. I shall let you know what I think once I'm finished :)

    Jade xx | simplyjadey.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would love to hear your thoughts when you've finished! I also love the fact it is from alternate perspectives, I connected to Violet the most! x

      Delete